20120615-155503.jpg

So…I have no idea what the formatting is gonna look like on this one. But, one must make due…

Abecedarian is like my new favorite word. I’d call that $4.50 word, if I charged for uniqueness (link pending). I approached crochet and knitting in a very elementary manner. First, I learned that I “feel” my stitching. I know I’m doing a stitch right if my hands feel like they are in the right place, at the right time, with good tension on the yarn. If I heard I was doing it right but it felt awkward (and not in a beginner way), I’d know there was an issue. And Sensei would agree. So there is a fair amount of instinct in addition to muscle memory involved. I barely think about stitches, to be honest.

Second, I am a left-handed knitter, but I am a right-handed knitter (also known as English-style knitting). This knowledge accented an insight I had: for me, crocheting feels more of a creative, freestyle kind of pursuit, like dancing the hook in and out of the yarn, whereas knitting feels more technical and routine and mathematical. Thus, my essentially ambidextrous brain assigns crochet to my right hemisphere (left hand) and knitting to my left hemisphere (right hand). It might also be why I have an easier time with crochet–I’m mostly a southpaw.

The Projects:
I made the swatches as close to the same size as I could, and there is a noticable weight to the crochet than the knit. I learned (somewhere) a crochet project requires around 1/3 more yarn than the same project done as a knit. The crochet is more firm and textured; the knit is softer, stretchier, and drapier.

I don’t remember many issues I had with crochet other than beginner tension and some start/stop procedures. I worked diligently on it.
With knitting, I cried a lot over it. I asked for help constantly and even frogged my beginning swatch. Aside from life getting in the way, I didn’t feel as physically excited to work on it after I reworked my frogged yarn. I mulled over it constantly in my head, though. And I still LOVE knitting–not just the idea of knitting. They are both fun for me.

In Summary:
I wanted to alternate crochet and knit projects, but I feel crochet is going to be my go-to fibre technique. I already found more projects I want to jump into with crochet than knitting on Ravelry, but I really want more practice with knitting. So, I think I’ll read my books (links pending) and soak up some knowledge. Maybe I’ll make a bathmat using both knit and crochet (I need some new ones; there was…some unpleasantness with my last one…and I know I won’t get my full security deposit back).

The Stars of Our Little Show:
My 5″ x 5.5″ single crochet swatch was made using Lily Sugar’n Cream Super Size yarn. The color, Ecru, is colorway 18004 (links pending. I’m not using my phone for a lot of link research when I don’t know how they’ll turn out). I used the Susan Bates G/6 hook my Sensei graciously bestowed upon me. The new Susan Bates hooks are made in Mexico and have a different point than the vintage American one Sensei gave me–and it’s fun to work with! But I use the vintage one to absorb Sensei’s talents 🙂 Also, my new G/6 hook is 4mm, 1/4mm smaller than the elder one, according to the sizing etched in them both.

My 5″ x 5.5″ garter knit swatch was crafted lovingly using Lily Sugar’n Cream Super Size yarn. The color, Cream, is colorway 18003. I used #6 (4.25mm) Boye needles. Incidentally, I dislike the throat of Boye crochet hooks, and when a friend expressed both a renewed love of crochet and an appreciation of Boye-style hooks, I donated them to her and was able to buy her some yarn. We worked the chainstitch together and off she went.

I would end my entry today with thanks to Sensei and our mutual Canadian friend. If I had tried either learning projects on my own, I might have two misshapen, half-done masses of ill-fated yarn and lots of knots and frustration. Books are nice, but having a human teacher (with a rabbit cohort) ensures technique, adds life, and most importantly, ancestry to each stitch. Your style is developed from the lessons taught by your teacher, who refined her knowledge from her teacher, but you’re still adding to the Great Project of Lineage.

